The art KARLSRUHE-Prize

For the 12th time: the art KARLSRUHE-Prize

Saturday, 23 February, 11.30 a.m., ARTIMA art Forum in the dm-arena

The jury annually selects and honours a gallery owner and an artist who jointly staged a One-Artist-Show. The prize money, which is made available by the State of Land Baden-Württemberg and the City of Karlsruhe, finances the purchase of artworks from the presentation shown at the fair.

After ten years of the art KARLSRUHE-Prize, the time was ripe to stage an unprecedented special exhibit at last year’s fair presenting some of the artworks that had been acquired during the preceding ten years. The purchased artworks became part of the art KARLSRUHE-Collection, which is housed at the Städtische Galerie [Municipal Gallery] in Karlsruhe.

Once again in 2019, art lovers excitedly await the announcement of the names of the gallery owner and the artist who staged the most convincing One-Artist-Show.

Previous prize winners

  • 2018 Sarah McRae Morton Galerie Anja Knoess, Köln
  • 2017 Neringa Vasiliauskaite Galerie Smudajescheck, München
  • 2016 Werner Schmidt Galerie Wohlhüter, Leibertingen-Thalheim
  • 2015 Alfonso Hüppi Galerie Reinhold Maas, Reutlingen
  • 2014 Jessica Buhlmann Galerie Anja Rumig, Stuttgart
  • 2013 Claude Wall Galerie Angelo Falzone, Mannheim
  • 2012 Tatjana Doll Galerie Klaus Gerrit Friese, Stuttgart
  • 2011 Jens Hanke Galerie Hunchentoot, Berlin
  • 2010 Julius Grünewald Galerie Karlheinz Meyer, Karlsruhe
  • 2009 Thomas Müller Galerie Michael Sturm, Stuttgart
  • 2008 Reto Boller Galerie Mueller-Roth, Stuttgart

Prize Winner in 2018: Gallery Anja Knoess

Prize Winner in 2018: Gallery Anja Knoess

The prize was awarded in 2018 to Gallery Anja Knoess from Cologne and the artist Sarah McRae Morton from the USA.


The expert jury comments on its choice of the prize winner:

With Sarah McRae Morton, the jury of the art-KARLSRUHE-Prize honours an artist from the USA whose artworks convey into the present day painterly traditions, especially those of the 19th century, in a manner that is as independent as it is idiosyncratic. In an era marked by shrill statements and visually loud proclamations, this artist relies on a subtle vocabulary of images whose narrative elements are charged with subtle political messages. Born in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania in 1984, Sarah McRae Morton studied at the University of Pennsylvania from 2004 to 2007 and augmented her academic training with a stay at Trinity College in Rome in 2006. This sojourn enabled McRae to acquire experiences with European culture, which she afterwards productively evolved in paintings enlivened by references to art history and current events. The jury’s conferral of the art KARLSRUHE-Prize also expressly honours the work of the gallery owner Anja Knoess from Cologne, who strongly promotes the work of this 33-year-old artist.

The Jury in 2018

The jury for the art KARLSRUHE-Prize is formed anew each year, drawing upon leading representatives of cultural institutions, journalists, artists and policymakers.

  • Dr. Brigitte Baumstark, director of the Städtische Galerie [Municipal Gallery] in Karlsruhe
  • Dorothee Bar-Bogenschütz, journalist
  • Anja Casser, director of the Badischer Kunstverein Karlsruhe e.V. [Baden Art Association in Karlsruhe]
  • Dr. Michael Hübl, journalist
  • Prof. Dr. Pia Müller-Tamm, director of the Staatliche Kunsthalle Karlsruhe [State Art Gallery in Karlsruhe]
  • Prof. Werner Pokorny, artist
  • Michael Sieber, former state secretary

This website uses cookies to ensure our visitors get the best user experience. By continuing to use this website you are giving consent to cookies being used.
Additional information and the option to revoke your acceptance can be found on our Legal notice page
I agree | close notification